The protets by DDC Members was successful as Chairpersons of 20 DDC's in Jammu and Kashmir


After the meeting Lt Governor, Manoj Sinha assured them that the Warrant of Precedence in respect of DDC chairpersons, vice chairpersons and members as per demands. “

Independent DDC member from Jammu TS Tony after meeting with the Lieutenant Governor announced suspension of agitation by the DDC members and said  the talks were held in cordial atmosphere and the Government has agreed to redraft the Warrant of Precedence.

Whereas as the official statemnet of Government reads "the interaction was held in a pleasant and amicable atmosphere.         
Reiterating J&K Government’s commitment to safeguarding the interests of DDC representatives, the Lt Governor observed that the three-tier Panchayati Raj system was established to empower the grass-root democracy.
Now, the true democracy is flourishing in the UT, which is not merely about governance but feeling of fraternity, brotherhood, and attitude of respect and reverence towards each other. We have to work together to meet the developmental aspirations of the people. The administration will ensure the three-tier Panchayati Raj system is strengthened in the UT, the Lt Governor told the DDC members.
The delegation comprised of DDC Chairpersons, Vice-Chairpersons, and members including Sh. Bharat Bhushan, Sh. Saraf Singh Nag, Sh. Bari Andrabi, Sh. Irfan Panditpuri, Ms. Nuzhat Ishfaq, Ms. Tazeem Akhter, Sh. Malik Aftab, Ms. Juhi Manhas, Dr. Shamshad Shah, Sh. TS Tony, Sh. Shahnawaz, Sh. Suleman Mir, and Sh. Riyaz Bhat, who met the Lt Governor.

Sh. BVR Subrahmanyam, Chief Secretary; Sh. Rohit Kansal, Principal Secretary, PDD and  Information Department, and Ms. Sheetal Nanda, Secretary, Department of Rural Development & Panchayati Raj were also present during the interaction."